forshutter.blogg.se

Using a usb mixer as an audio interface
Using a usb mixer as an audio interface











If you're happy with software-based controls, as you would generally be using with a traditional interface, then there's plenty of function and quality to be had in the MR18, and you're not paying for a built-in display screen and motorized faders. As I read the OP's requirements, the first product that made sense to me for his requirements is the Midas MR18. I write this from the high channel count perspective of using a Midas M32 for my interface. The cost point for ever-higher input channel counts and a nice set of effects in a mixer has now solidly stepped into the range of traditional interfaces. When there's a 5 or 6 person band, especially when there's a drummer, then a mixer really shines as a better approach to realtime monitoring for headphone mixes, metronome distribution, and managing multiple playback speaker pairs. If just two or three people are concurrently recording, then a typical 8-channel interface and some work within the DAW to handle headphone mixes is fine. I think the major issues with home recording using mixer/interfaces is the scale of requirements. mixers are limited typically, otherwise everyone in the world would use them, and apparently they don't I just want to make music.not interested in "working" in the studio anymore, tweaking windows, playing with buffers, setting delays, yanking to sample rates.FFSīatsbrew adat IS probably still the best choice. Oh wait.except they don't make them for normal salaries. All 16 inputs together, in the same box, and I don't have to worry about it.

using a usb mixer as an audio interface

Or why anything hanging off of device 2 has extra latency and the DAW isn't adjusting for it. I will have drum inputs (ten) that will occupy both devices.I really don't want to fight trying to figure out why my overheads in device 2 are slightly behind the rest of the kit in device 1. But when one device is hanging off of another one, there HAS to be a variation between the two, and I have no idea how a DAW deals with that. Also, latency is fine when all 16 inputs are going through the same plumbing. It's a built-in limitation that irritates the hell out of me when planning longer term. batsbrew adat IS probably still the best choice. But a brand new one, with way more inputs and features, just main out basically? Yeah, I did not expect that at all. You can buy them for about 200 bucks on Ebay. It has a firewire option card and delivers all 16 tracks to the DAW, including 2 more main out tracks. My Mackie Onyx 1620 is like 13 years old, I think. Presonus makes several mixers that are actual multitrack recording interfaces. they only record the sum of the inputs to a stereo track. BlixYZ those mackie boards don't allow multitrack recording.













Using a usb mixer as an audio interface